Europe's Unique Regions - Our Personal Experience

The History of the European Union

The most important dates

9th May 1950 - Robert Schuman proposes creating the Coal and Steel Community
18th April 1951 - France, Italy, the Benelux countries (Belgium, Netherlands and Luxemburg) and West Germany sign the Treaty of Paris creating the European Coal and Steel Community
25th March 1957 - Treaty of Rome: the European Economic Community is established (it comes into force on 1st January 1958) by the six members of the European Coal and Steel Community
1st January 1973 - Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom join the European Economic Community
1st January 1981 - Greece joins the European Economic Community
14th June 1985 - the Schengen Agreement abolishes the European Economic Community internal border checks; it leads to creating the Schengen Area within the EU in 1999
1st January 1986 - Spain and Portugal join the European Economic Community
7th February 1992 - the Treaty of Maastricht: the Treaty on European Union is the second of two treaties (the first one is the Treaty of Rome of 1957) forming the constitutional basis of the European Union (it comes into force on 1st November 1993)
1st November 1993 - the formal establishment of the European Union
1st January 1995 - Austria, Finland and Sweden join the EU
1st January 1999 - the euro introduced in non-physical form (electronic transfers, banking, etc.)
1st January 2002 - the euro banknotes and coins appear
1st May 2004 - Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia join the EU
1st January 2007 - Bulgaria and Romania join the EU
1st July 2013 - Croatia joins the EU

You have no rights to post comments

This Week
Last Week
This Month
Last Month
All days

Your IP:
2019-06-19 07:54